Top Hand Award


The Top Hand Award is the NDSA's most prestigious award in appreciation to those who have made exceptional contributions to the welfare of the cattle industry. The Top Hand will be awarded at the NDSA convention banquet. 

"In grateful recognition of his/her unselfish concern for humanity, for his/her country and for the cattle industry. His/her many outstanding achievements and demonstrated leadership have earned him/her the high esteem, respect and admiration of his/her innumberable friends and associates throughout society." - NDSA Top Hand Award

Nominations for the Top Hand Award can be made by a member of the NDSA to the Honorary Recognition Committee, who will review all nominations and present their recommendation to the board of directors for a vote at the March board meeting.

Click here for Honorary Membership committee members.

Past Top Hand Award recipients

2017 - Jerry Effertz, Velva

2013 - Jack Reich, Zap

2009 - Wade Moser, Bismarck

2002 - Richard M. Tokach, Mandan

2001 - Stan Melroe, Gwinner 

1998 - Gordon McLean, Gilby

1996 - Kyle Miller, Bantry 

1995 - Odd Osteroos, Des Lacs 

1994 - Roger Stuber, Bowman 

1993 - Delbert Moore, Forbes 

1992 - Joe Milton, McLeod 

1990 - Millard T. Lund,  Bismarck

           Clair Michels, Bismarck 

1989 - J.L. Connolly, Golden Valley 

1987 - Jack Dahl, Gackle 

1975 - Brooks Keogh, Keene 

1974 - Don Short, Medora 

1973 - Karnes Johnson, Golva 

1973 - Jim Tyler, Bismarck 
           Andrew Johnston, Watford City